Skip to main content

What am I looking at?

Hello, welcome to Hexlink! This is an application developed to help you meet people who live near you by either joining or creating communities that others can join.

The first thing you see is a map with some hexagon tiles. Purple ones have communities in them, green ones are empty, grey ones are not supported.

The communities can only be registered to a tile of specific size but the results are aggregated. If you press a larger tile, it will simply zoom you into the next layer.

Once you get to the lowest level, when you press a tile it will show you all the communities available in that tile (or none if it's empty) and you can join them through the provided links.

You don't need to have an account to access this, the communities are fully publicly available.

How do I create my own community?

There is no button on the interface to start creating and that is by design as you should only be looking at an area that you're interested in.

To add a community, zoom/click through to the lowest tile level and select a tile where you want to add a community. This will open the communities list which also has a "Create community" button.

From there, you'll be able to select up to 50 connected tiles in your desired area and then submit your community details.

info

Looking for tips on how big your community should be and what it should be about? Check out the creating your community page

Before your community gets added, it will need to be reviewed by our internal team (don't worry, we're not strict, just checking it's not spam). You will get updates for this, and if your community gets approved it will show up on the map within 24 hours.

How do I manage my existing or pending community?

When you create a community, you will also create an account. You can use this account to sign in into your management console. This is the "Manage" button on the top right of the map.

In here, you can do the following:

  • Edit your community - you can edit the name, description or URL of your community. This change will need to go through the approval process again, but your existing community will stay as is. Only one edit at a time is open, so if you need to edit it again while it's waiting for approval it will all fall under the same approval.
  • Delete your community - it will disappear from the map within 24 hours after your request.